The Treasure Museum is located in the historic city center of Assisi, inside the Sacred Convent of the Basilica of Saint Francis. The Museum display is arranged inside the Gothic Hall of the Sacred Convent and in an adjacent room. Reopened in 2000, it contains two different collections: the Treasure of the Basilica and the Perkins Collection.
The Treasure includes oriental woven items, sinopias, paintings dated from the thirteenth to the sixteenth centuries, metalwork in gold and silver (which include precious reliquaries from the thirteenth to the seventeenth centuries), illuminated manuscripts, and ivory carvings donated from 1230 onward by popes, kings and other illustrious persons as a sign of devotion to St Francis. Among the most interesting works is ‘The Tree of St Francis’, a Flemish wall tapestry of the late fifteenth century; according to tradition Pope Sixtus IV, portrayed in the lower part of the tapestry, donated it to the Basilica. Since 1986 fifty-six panel paintings have been displayed, in large part works of Florentine and Sienese masters active between the fourteenth and sixteenth centuries, and an early fourteenth century marble bas-relief portraying a Madonna with child, all the legacy of the American art critic Frederick Mason Perkins. Among the paintings are worksattributed to Lorenzo Monaco, Pietro Lorenzetti, Taddeo di Bartolo, Bartolo di Fredi, Beato Angelico, Sassetta, Sano di Pietro, Antoniazzo Romano, Bartolomeo della Gatta and Garofalo. Among other works, the Perkins Collection can boast of the Triptych signed by Francesco di Gentile, depicting The Madonna with Child, two angel musicians, and on the sides John the Baptist and Christ tied to a Column.
- Find it at
Maestro del Tesoro di San Francesco. San Francesco tra quattro suoi miracoli, sec. XII sesto decennio