The Museo della Stampa collects testimonies on paper production and publishing in Foligno from the 15th century to the present day.
It is housed in the old late 15th century palace of the Orfini family, rich pontifical old-timers in the place where the Orfini Numeister printing house, founded thanks to the collaboration between Emiliano Orfini and Johannes Numeister, alias of Gutenberg, had its headquarters. On April 11, 1472, the first printed edition of Dante Alighieri's Divine Comedy was printed at the printing house.
Access to the museum is through the Renaissance portal in Via Pertichetti, surmounted by the inscription "Laborandum Ut Quiescas" [it is necessary to tire oneself to rest].
On the ground floor the first section is dedicated to the production of paper in Foligno, from the first paper mills until today. On display is a reconstruction of a fifteenth-century printing press. On the third floor it is possible to retrace the stages of the evolution of printing in Foligno. In the Room of the incunabula are shown the watermarked papers and the printing matrixes. The showcases contain some 15th century editions of the Orfini Numeister prototype print. Next, the Sala del civil consesso collects praises, epitaphs, doctorates, doctorates, monastic papers and newspapers published in Foligno. In the Sala dei Lunari there is an overview of lunars and almanacs, including the famous Blackbeard, posters and testimonies of the Apollo Piermarini theatre (1827-1944). In the Loggia dei Trinci, finally, entirely frescoed with monochromes that tell the founding myth of the family and the origins of the city, there is a section dedicated to the typographers present in Foligno between the 16th and 19th centuries.
- Find it at